Poolhall Junkies (2002)

So today I was looking for an Indie thriller/action movie and I found Poolhall Junkies. An interesting movie especially for pool lovers (as the title suggests).

Poolhall Junkies poster

The movie is about a young and talented pool player, Johnny (Mars Callahan– an accomplished pool player in reality) who is adopted by Joe (Chazz Palminteri). Joe uses Johnny in his hustling games till Johnny finds out that Joe was holding back from his dream of becoming a pro. Johnny quits playing and starts living with his girlfriend Tara (Alison Eastwood). He then meets Mike (Christopher Walken– The Deer Hunter, Catch me if you can, to name a few) and wins him over with his talent. But Johnny is forced to quit by Tara until his brother Danny (Michael Rosenbaum) gets into trouble with Joe and Johnny is the only one who can save him. He has to beat a pro Brad (Rick Schroder) to get his revenge against Joe and bring his brother back.

Actor/Writer/Director Mars Callahan has done a good job of not only sketching the character well, but also playing him perfectly. He manages to keep a poker face even when a lot is at stake going to show how adept he is at the game. The film does have a few rough edges. With those amazing shots on the table, I think this is worth a watch!

The film has also has some great soundtracks and quick witted lines which kept me interested till the end. All the pool lovers out there, don’t miss out on this one as you are going to love it!

My rating: 3.5/5 (I added an additional 0.5 after reading this and of course, I like a movie with with some authentic sporting action Smile).

Credits: Google Images

2 thoughts on “Poolhall Junkies (2002)

  1. I haven’t seen this but I’m a fan of movies about pool. I even liked that one Whoopi Goldberg made for TV – forget its name. I like the actors on show here. Will have to check it out.

Leave a Reply

