Anthony Zimmer (2005)

I recently caught this French movie from a new source: my television. I subscribed to some movie channels, adding another resource for my blog. This movie isn’t there on Netflix yet, but you can save it for later.

The movie is about Anthony Zimmer, a man wanted for money laundering. No one knows how he looks or sounds. The only way to reach him is through his beautiful lover, Chiara (Sophie Marceau). Chiara is aware of the fact that she is under constant surveillance. On one of her train journeys to Nice, France, she meets a common man, Taillandier (Yvan Attal). She chooses to be seen with him as he has a physique similar to Anthony’s. Taillandier is now wanted by the Russian Killers and he discloses the truth to the French Police- that he is not Anthony. The movie then revolves around him being chased by the Russians and the police continuing their search for Anthony.

As I watched this film, I was reminded of a film made here in Hollywood: The Tourist starring Angelina Jolie and Johnny Depp. I would call The Tourist a more dramatized version of Anthony Zimmer with of course a more attractive star cast.

Either ways, I thought it was a film that captured my attention and I enjoyed it till the end. Since I had already seen The Tourist before, I knew the outcome and it probably made me a little less appreciative of the film. Given a choice, I would choose The Tourist over this one.

My Rating: 3/5

My favorite line: The movie was in French, and so I was pleased to hear all the lines!

Credits: Google Images

Leave a Reply

